Author Topic: Black walnut questions  (Read 1892 times)

Offline Mo_coon-catcher

Black walnut questions
« on: March 17, 2012, 02:28:20 am »
Today at work I was playing with a sinew backed osage and bamboo arrow that I have been working on and the editor of our local TV station saw me playing with them and asked if I would like to be filmed making a bow and bowfishing. For the bow I'm thinking about using a short piece of black walnut that I have and making a bendy handle selfbow. I have never used walnut before and am wondering what it's strengths and weaknesses are and if I need to do any straightening which can it be straightened with dry heat? The bow will be about 54 inches from nock to nock (might sound backwards but I made a string that turned out good but too short for the bow I made it for, so I want to make a bow for it) and am wondering what dimensions would be good and what draw I can expect it to handle. I'm going to aim for 50# at 25", do you think walnut can handle it? I'm thinking about making it 1 3/4 inch at the fades going parallel for half its limb length then tapering down to 3/8" and having the handle 1" wide. The stave has some nice dark heart wood and bright white sapwood so I'm thinking about chasing a ring so that there will be about 1/8" of sapwood to get some contrast. How does this sound? I'm not too worried about speed as long as it holds up and is atleast a decent enough shooter since the guy wants to film me bowfishing with it. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Offline Jude

• Julian Benoit, Black River, NY & Kandahar, Afghan.
Re: Black walnut questions
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 02:51:22 am »
I think that's a bit short and narrow, even for a 25" draw.  Walnut is a fairly decent bow wood, but not a great one.  I think you want to be over 60" and 2" wide at the fades for that weight and draw length, especially if you don't want to back it.

Julian
"Not all those that wander are lost."--Tolkien