Author Topic: Goncalo alves boards  (Read 4672 times)

Offline JW_Halverson

Goncalo alves boards
« on: October 07, 2008, 02:02:55 pm »
I have a chance to buy some goncalo alves boards (1 x 6, 8 ft long) at a pretty reasonable price.  The seller is getting rid of them because they do not have the "tigerwood" striping he wants.  Grain appears to be quite straight and no knots.  They meet the criteria I would use on hickory board bows, but I have no experience with g.a. 

1) Does goncalo alves work for board bows?  Would it require backing; and if so, would tight woven linen backing suffice?
2) Is g.a good for flat bows?  How about ELB styles?
3) Betting it would look hot with bamboo backing, anyone got any to trade?
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline snedeker

Re: Goncalo alves boards
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 11:22:07 am »
I bought a 1/8 piece for handle laminations, etc.  I haven't seen or heard of a bow made from it but it should be tried.  I see on the wood wood sources that it is considered a high density wood with high bending strength -- a good sign.  It's s.g. is listed at widely variying levels from .75-.97.   From working a little with the piece I had my educated guess would be in the low .8s.  It is pretty oily.  The safe route would to make one with hickory backing at first.  I'd be glad to chat about a possible trade if you would like to message me.

Dave

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 11:33:11 am »
Goncalo alves is listed as a bow wood in at least one large lumber retailer website.  The only bows I've seen made out of the wood have been laminated bows with Goncalo alves as a core wood.