Author Topic: VIKING BOWS!!!  (Read 66719 times)

Young Viking

VIKING BOWS!!!
« on: September 19, 2008, 02:45:34 am »
Hallo friends,
I am very new to this site and blogging in general, so please bare with me...
I have been learning ho to shoot my recurve bow for about 6 months so far and thanks to this site ame inspired to build my own bow for the first time!
So I ask you experts out there, to help my build a bow that the Vikings of Norway would have used to hunt small game! i hunt Rabbit, squirrel, also turkey in the spring!
I live in Connecticut, USA now if that would help you know what types of trees I have available ( alot of nice woods near me too(. So obtaining the wood isn't an issue!)
Hope to hear back soon!
Danke!
-Young Viking

Offline Cromm

Re: VIKING BOWS!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2008, 05:53:06 am »
Hi sent you a PM....

And Welcome to PA i hope you enjoy it as much as i have so far!!!!!
Great Britain.
Home of the Longbowman.

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2008, 06:08:22 am »
 I don't really know about the design of Viking bows, but there are a bunch of people on here who can probably point you in the right direction.  As far as wood you can probably find some hickory, elm, or black locust in your area.  Other types as well I'm sure, but those are the ones I'm familiar with which should be pretty easy to come by.  Good luck and Welcome.
Traverse City, MI

Online Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2008, 06:45:42 am »
Welcome Y V  I can't help you on this one but looks like you are in good hands already.  :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline islandpiper

• "Just one more bow, OK?"
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2008, 09:53:48 am »