Author Topic: Spliting Osage  (Read 4441 times)

Offline Don

Spliting Osage
« on: July 26, 2008, 03:27:09 pm »
I have a chance to cut some Osage ABOUT 10"-12" in diameter.
For a log that size should it be split once for two stave's or twice for four stave's?
This is my first time gathering wood for bows so I'm not sure.
I have read to leave on the bark and seal the ends. The area that has been split does not need to be seal, correct?
I have perchaced a couple of Osage stave's that is already seasoned, these have already been debarked and look like the back side is sealed.
Don

Offline Dano

Re: Spliting Osage
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2008, 04:55:35 pm »
When harvesting osage in the summer I have found it best to debark the staves nad seal the backs, or if you don't want to debark spray them down good with an insectiside, to prevent wood borers. With a big log like 10-12" you oughta easily get four maybe more staves you might get some belly splits, always better to split them wider just to be on the safe side.
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

Nevada

Offline Don

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2008, 12:18:50 am »
Thanks Dano.
I'm hoping to get a couple logs this weekend and some others later this fall.

Don

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2008, 03:06:41 am »
Of the few osage saplings I've cut myself, the staves checked badly.  I recommend splitting the logs and debarking right away....and storing them somewhere that's not too hot (so they won't dry unevenly).  With 10-12" diameter logs you should get at least 4 staves per log.  Seal the ends and backs.  Personally, I use wood glue to seal my staves....many others use polyurethane.  I have one mulberry stave (that I purchased) with mold under the thick layer of polyurethane...so a light coat of sealer might prevent this?  Anyway, I'm sure others with more experience will chime in.... ;D