Author Topic: Glue for splice  (Read 3949 times)

Offline razorbak

Glue for splice
« on: October 06, 2023, 08:35:01 am »
Morning everybody
Now I have never done a splice before but I got a set of Osage billets coming what is your go to glue for splicing. I know many use smooth on but for one set of billets I’m not sure if it’s worth it for me? I will get some if I do more bows with backing I have used titebond3 for several but I know I need more gap filling properties
Any one got examples of splicing and what type of glue do you perfer and any links to a how to splice as I seen some on you tube but it was confusing on some
Thanks in advance

Offline Hamish

Re: Glue for splice
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2023, 09:39:19 am »
The good thing about Smooth On, or other quality epoxies is that they have a long shelf life. You will be using it in plenty of other bowmaking tasks, or other general woodworking projects, so you won't be wasting your money. I have had cheaper hardware store 24hr epoxy start to delaminate on splices.
TB3 will work, and work well, but the joinery needs to have much closer tolerances than what you can get away with epoxy.

Offline bradsmith2010

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2023, 10:45:35 am »
smooth on

Offline superdav95

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2023, 01:43:55 pm »
smooth on

Plus 1 more for smooth on.  They sell it in the one pint size cans too. 
Sticks and stones and other poky stabby things.

superdav95@gmail.com

Online bassman211

« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2023, 10:45:58 am »
75 bucks  on Ebay.   ???

Offline Muskyman

« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2023, 11:28:33 am »
I found this place online.  Don’t know anything about site and I haven’t bought anything from them. Also I haven’t checked it out at all, just saw it and thought I’d share.
Terrible picture but it says 1 pint ea-40 kit for 39.99
The complete sculptor
https://shop.sculpt.com/ea-40-transparent-laminating-epoxy-adhesive.html
Here’s the link
Much better than $75.00