Author Topic: Recurve Tiller  (Read 1828 times)

Offline ShorterJ

Recurve Tiller
« on: August 19, 2022, 12:26:40 pm »
I just wanted to get some opinions on tiller incase I’m missing something.  This is a pretty stressed design in my opinion, so I want the tiller spot on.  The top limb has a little bit of positive tiller.  I’ve never tillered a recurve until now and have only made four bows so far.  Needless to say I’m pretty new at this.  Tillering definitely plays tricks on my mind and makes me feel like I’m going crazy and seeing things.  I don’t have the best set up, so I apologize if the pictures are subpar.

HT Hickory 62”ntn
~50# at 28”
~1 5/8- 1 3/4” wide, taper at mid limb to 1/2” tips
4” stiff handle and 2” fades
Sharp, static recurves and holds some reflex

Offline ShorterJ

Re: Recurve Tiller
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2022, 12:28:58 pm »
Unstrung pics

Offline Vgo750

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2022, 02:21:39 pm »
Uhhh dude, that looks beautiful.  First recurve or not that looks like an arra slanger right there.  Probably more technical opinions to come but I say great job. 

Offline Will B

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2022, 06:17:38 pm »
I think you nailed it. The tiller looks good to my eye and that unbraced profile supports that. Beautiful hickory recurve. Well done!

Offline ShorterJ

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2022, 07:10:47 pm »
I hope so. Time will tell.  Every time I look at it I feel like it looks different.  My eyes are playing tricks on me.

Offline Vgo750

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2022, 09:01:53 pm »
Sigh, I know exactly what you mean.  I can stare at tiller for hours and make absolutely no progress.  But looking at yours has me inspired to finish up tillering my first recurve that I’ve been picking up and putting down for about 2 years haha.

Offline Marc St Louis

• Administrator
  • Keep it flexible
    • Marc's Bows and Arrows
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2022, 09:43:19 pm »
looks pretty good
Home of heat-treating, Corbeil, On.  Canada