Author Topic: Newbie needs help tillering a bow  (Read 2848 times)

Offline Walski

Newbie needs help tillering a bow
« on: April 23, 2021, 01:14:08 pm »
I am new to bow building, and this bow is a vine maple 68" NTN.   I am having a hard time tilling this bow, can you tell me where I need to remove wood, and if any, thanks.

Offline sleek

Re: Newbie needs help tillering a bow
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2021, 04:18:13 pm »
Ummm damn. I know experienced guys who would struggle with that. I'd say you are doing a great job so far. Remember that the limb that is deflex will need to bend further than the other limb to keep the stresses balanced between the two limbs, which it appears you are doing. I have no real advice to offer, cause I think you are doing fine!
Tread softly and carry a bent stick.

Dont seek your happiness through the approval of others

Offline rps3

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2021, 06:37:00 pm »
I love it, and agree with sleek. Good luck.

Offline RyanY

« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2021, 09:46:39 pm »
Staves like that are difficult to judge. Definitely look at it from both sides while tillering. It does look to me like there are two areas by each limb tip that are bending too much without any corresponding deflex or humps. I find that using my fingers and the growth ring pattern on the belly to be very helpful on these bows, if the thickness taper is gradual and even then it’s a pretty safe bet that it’ll bend the way it should. Watch out for low or high spots.

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2021, 04:41:05 am »
It's been a while since I've done a bow like that.I like these bows too.With that one like you've been doing you'll have to squint your eyes observing the tiller at full draw seeing the overall bend taking in account the characterish undulations it has.A very character laden bow.The extra length you gave it helps.To me it looks pretty darn good.A real gem and accomplishment.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2021, 04:54:52 am by BowEd »
BowEd