Author Topic: 5 curve design considerations  (Read 1967 times)

Offline Kidder

5 curve design considerations
« on: March 19, 2021, 08:04:24 pm »
I’ve really fallen in love with the look of a 5 curve bow. I own a mild 5 curve built for me by someone else and it’s a great shooter. I’d like to eventually build one but I’ve been able to find very little information on design considerations. For example what are the benefits/detriments of the design? From some of the bows I’ve seen online it appears they can be made shorter than many other designs - am I correct? At what point are the curves best added? What are the other considerations and nuances of this design? Thanks for entertaining my curiosity!

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: 5 curve design considerations
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 08:42:59 pm »
   I have made some gull wing shaped bows, but that usually just happened when I put reflex in the handle,,
so I am not an expert of the 5 curve, but if I was gonna try to make one,, i would put set back in the handle,, and slightly flip the tips,,  I think the bows profile would settle in on its own,, I may have over simplified as stated I have not made a 5 curve,,
    the best way to learn about a bow is to make them,, make your first one, and then modifiy it to your needs,
as far as length, you will be able to tell by the amount of set it is taking on how long you can make the bows,, and that will depend on the draw length,, just like any other bow,,
    if I wanted a 25 inche draw, just to be conservative I would make the bow like 55 and see how it did, trying the next one shorter if all seemed well,, hope that helps get you started and sure others with more experience will chime in,, if you try to make the bow to heavy in draw, it gonna pull the set back out of the handle unless you sinew back,,

Offline lonbow

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2021, 10:27:10 am »