Author Topic: Difficulty controlling.  (Read 2037 times)

Offline ratt

Difficulty controlling.
« on: August 21, 2020, 09:33:54 am »
I'm new to bow making, only four so far, which shoot quite well, but all have the same upper and lower limb defect, in that being flat bows, I have found it nearly impossible to keep both limb bellies on the same plane, so to speak. I am using young sapling staves cut from forest, dried for a good while. I only have the basic tools, no band saw etc. Do other people have a tip on how to control this issue, I try to make each one with a slightly different approach,but till now, i've never been satisfied with this one issue, among others for a later date.

Offline Deerhunter21

• What do you despise? By this are you truly known.
Re: Difficulty controlling.
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 09:52:50 am »
pics? i dont think i understand your question real well.
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.

Offline Kidder

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2020, 09:53:21 am »
I’m in the same boat as you so don’t speak with any significant experience. That said I’ve been using a pocket level on the belly to ensure I’m keeping limb edge thickness consistent across the belly. Maybe this could help???

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2020, 10:11:49 am »
Are you working at a bench vice? I find that I tend to scrape more on the near side, if that makes sense, so I tend to get a little propeller twist built in. Once I was conscious of what I was doing it helped a lot.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2020, 12:04:54 pm »
Just keep checking by laying an arrow shaft across each limb. A bit of twist isn't the end of the world... my fave' bow is called "Twister"
Work the belly dead flat initially, round the edges later and than can correct any minor discrepancy.