Author Topic: New to Bow building  (Read 8547 times)

Offline tomwatson

New to Bow building
« on: April 06, 2008, 12:17:23 am »
First off, I would like to say hello to everyone. This is my first time posting on this wonderful site. I would like to get started in the world of bow making, but I am unsure where to start. I have checked out a few dealers on the web that sell U-finish kits, and I am wondering if this would be a good way to get started. I am a little concerned about tillering my first bow, so I figured that I would buy one already tillered to my draw. I am also planning on going to the Primitive Archery Expo next weeked in Ohio. Who would be some good folks to talk to at this event. Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom

humaza

Re: New to Bow building
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2008, 12:32:01 am »
Yeah I was considering a thread like this.

I may be native but my family hunted with guns =P

What I would like most is to go up to white oak mountain and find a tree and make a shooter. I dunno about lamination, doing backings, doing curvatures. I've been reading PA for a year or so, i'm not sure what most of the technical terms mean.

Mostly a stick that throws other sticks.

Offline Andrea S

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2008, 02:02:24 am »
I'd recommend to you what the first fellow I ever asked about bow building recommended to me: find yourself a copy of the Traditional Bowyer's Bible. Any one of the volumes has a TON of awesome information on all kinds of bow building, ranging from the very beginner to expert. You're certainly in the right place, because the folks on this board will help you with any problem, question, or uncertainty you might have, every step of the way.

Welcome to the group, Tom!
Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be. -Abe Lincoln

Offline NOMADIC PIRATE

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2008, 08:50:02 am »
Get a couple of publications, ....TBB 4 is great.

3 of 4 basic tools.