Author Topic: HBO D/R tiller check  (Read 2358 times)

Offline upstatenybowyer

HBO D/R tiller check
« on: September 01, 2018, 06:39:08 pm »
I'm new to this style and wondering what ya'll think of the tiller. It's for a friend w/ a 30" draw, and I'm only pulling it to about 28.5. Let me know what you think and don't hold back!

"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline DC

Re: HBO D/R tiller check
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2018, 06:53:07 pm »
I would try and get the last 1.5" from the outer half.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2018, 09:27:47 am »
Jeff , you've got more experience at this style bow than I do. I'd love to give you some great advice, but I'm afraid anything I say is just a guess. I think I'd agree with DC though. It does seem to be bending a lot out of fade, but I'm thinking that D/R should. Having said that I'm thinking the rest of the bend should probably come from outer limb. Hope that's not bad advice.
Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2018, 10:16:52 am »
If you look at the outer half of both limbs in all the pictures they all look the same. I don't think they are bending much, if at all. I find the inner, just out of the fades, is the toughest part. Because it's already bent to start with it's hard to tell when it's right.

Offline Mark Smeltzer

« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2018, 10:37:28 am »
You're bending hard right out of the fades. Try to get the outer part of the limbs bending more.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2018, 10:46:44 am »
You're bending hard right out of the fades. Try to get the outer part of the limbs bending more.