Author Topic: wood-backed d/r bows tillering and thickness  (Read 4079 times)

Offline upstatenybowyer

wood-backed d/r bows tillering and thickness
« on: June 04, 2018, 06:46:09 pm »
I'm new to this type of bow and I'm having some problems. Assuming the width runs parallel for half the length of the limbs, then tapers to the tips, here's what I don't understand...

-the amount of wood removal necessary to get the outers bending seems crazy. Am I just feeling way more early weight than with other types of bows? If so, when does it start to give?
-with the inners in deflex from the splice, I don't want them bending much so I leave them thick. Is this correct?

I've broken two so far and I'm starting to get a little frustrated.  (--)

"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline Badger

Re: wood-backed d/r bows tillering and thickness
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2018, 08:49:12 pm »
  One of the biggest problems with this type of bow is the amount of bend and the degree of the bend put in close to midlimb, it needs to be very gradual and increase as it nears the tips if not it is a nightmare to tiller out. Put your bow on a short longstring and test it to desired target weight study the bend carefully. If you have kind of a sharp bend like I described close to midlimb you just might break the bow trying to make it go away. It will remain part of the profile and give a very high false sense of draw weight. If you are having problems seeing the proper bend just make sure your thickness tapers stay nice and even and don't wind up with a thin spot right in the middle of the bend. Good luck.

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2018, 09:04:42 pm »
Old Roy that used to post on here did a build along, and he has videos on YouTube as well with them on the tree. Roy Painter. They will help a bunch
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.