Author Topic: WHEN TO BRACE AND HOW MUCH BRACE  (Read 2124 times)

Offline Carl Galvin

WHEN TO BRACE AND HOW MUCH BRACE
« on: April 10, 2018, 09:20:41 am »
So, I am back and would like to again remind all that I am a first time bow builder. My most recent pics, a few shavings later, are posted below.  I am not at around 49 or 50 lbs at 26 inches and have not braced (That is, I'm still using a loose string).  I was wondering if I should go ahead and brace now and whether it should be a low brace, or a full thumb and fist brace, in light of how the bow is bending(I know that left limb is bending more than the right), as i continue to tiller.  I hope I dont end up with a 15lb draw Lol.  Thanks!

https://imgur.com/7GreUp6
https://imgur.com/qqovzOL

Offline Badger

Re: WHEN TO BRACE AND HOW MUCH BRACE
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 09:24:37 am »
  It will read the same when you brace it as it does with the loose string so you are going to be about 50# at 26" right now. I would brace it with just a slightly low brace maybe 5" or so.

Offline Carl Galvin

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2018, 09:28:41 am »
Thanks Badger!

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2018, 10:11:33 am »
Carl, I don't know what you should do but I can tell you what I do. :)

I long string tiller out to 10" of string travel (not tip string travel) looking for good bending and tiller and around target weight. This puts the stave at 10# over  final target weight. Perfect for me to make weight and get a good tiller and not strain the stave at first brace.

Then I string it at 2-3 " brace height. As I proceed I gradually increase brace height to 7" to back of handle.

More on my site.

http://traditionalarchery101.com

Even though you may get the same weight at 26" (don't know for sure; don't do that anymore;  used to) but will take Steve's word for it. The dynamics of the bending is different so I am not sure you have accomplished much.

Welcome back.

Jawge