Author Topic: Pull up a stump, grab a cold one, I got an embarrassing one to tell.  (Read 6655 times)

Offline JW_Halverson

Nine pounds seven ounces, this little fellow. Found on a nearby federal wildlife refuge where he was unable to fly.  We had done the initial examination and could not find a broken bone in his thickly muscled and well fed body.  No pellet wounds under the feathers, and no fish hooks in the mouth.  Just a bird that was so unable to fly that puny mostly hairless ground apes could catch him. 

Notice his talons and feet are wrapped in a protective layer of cheap masking tape. With those death hooks wrapped in a ball and secured like this, those grabbers are out of the fight.  Also notice how I have my arms extended fully, both pinning the wings and keeping the head down lower on my chest.  Yup, doing everything right and according to the book.  Well, until Mr Freedom and Liberty twists, pops a wing out and I try to adjust my hold.

And there's where the dang nab wheels came off my short bus.  He lunged with his legs to get another two inches of elevation, stretched his 14 avian neckbones up to full extension and started feeding on my face.  He only got one bite, but I am now missing most of my left nostril. 

The other vet, not shown in the pic, grabbed a towel, stepped behind me and pressed it to the side of my face to staunch the shiny red hydraulic fluid leak (and possibly to cover my mouth to muffle the shrieks and curses). The vet in the picture put the large dog crate on the table and I popped Hannibal the Cannibal Animal into his own private high security cell.