Author Topic: Handles on a stave bow  (Read 3244 times)

Offline Dkincaid

Handles on a stave bow
« on: February 04, 2017, 11:26:00 am »
I have a stave of Osage that I've started working and noticed that it's not going to be thick enough to make a handle. I know I could make a bend thru the handle bow but I don't prefer that style. Can I glue on a some wood and make a handle similar to what I would do with a board bow? My instincts say yes but just wanted to check. My other option is to make an ELB which I have no experience with but they look neat.

Offline Dictionary

Re: Handles on a stave bow
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2017, 11:28:47 am »
If the wood at the handle bends and you glue a riser block of wood on, it will pop off. Your best bet is to build a bendy handle bow and just build it up with leather, cork, or something similar to fit your hand
"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2017, 11:37:26 am »
Yes you can, if the riser area is thicker than the limbs no problems,  if not glue a series of lams of varying lengths, this came up recently do a search for eric krewson and go threw his posts and you will find some examples that will work
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline bubby

Offline Dkincaid

« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2017, 11:47:41 am »
Sweet thank you

Offline Dictionary

« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2017, 11:58:48 am »
The laminate idea makes sense, but if u just put a block of wood on the handle and it bends, it will be a headache to keep it from coming off
"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2017, 12:00:05 pm »