Author Topic: sinew processing questions  (Read 6908 times)

Offline upstatenybowyer

sinew processing questions
« on: December 12, 2016, 08:13:11 pm »
I spent the majority of this past Sunday digging through deer legs that I got from a local deer processing guy in trade for my homemade maple syrup (there'll be much more come Feb and March  ;)) Anyway, I put it in the dehydrator overnight last night and started processing this afternoon. I'm new at this, and my first question is...

has anyone else had trouble differentiating between the surrounding tissue/casing and the sinew itself?

Here's a couple pictures of what I think is the casing, but is there sinew there?

and the second question...

It seems like the casing gets stuck to the sinew and when I try to remove it, it ends up splitting the sinew into smaller threads, which I do not want.  Can this be avoided?
"Even as the archer loves the arrow that flies, so too he loves the bow that remains constant in his hands."

Nigerian Proverb

Offline osage outlaw

Re: sinew processing questions
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2016, 08:37:14 pm »
That is some greasy sinew.  I get legs from a local processor also.   When I cut the sinew out I put them in a bucket of water and rinse them multiple times to get as much hair out as possible.  Then I take each piece and separate it into the individual bundles.  I remove any film or fatty looking tissue.  When they dry they are a solid amber color.  It takes some time but it makes it a lot easier to process and I get cleaner sinew fibers. 

Here is a picture of my sinew drying

I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline upstatenybowyer

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2016, 08:52:22 pm »
Dang. Now that's the way to do it. I was just so happy to get the stuff out, I rinsed it and put it in the dehydrator. I think that's my problem. I've gotta clean it up way more before drying. Man, is there anything about bow making that doesn't require tons of patience?  :o