Author Topic: Black Powder Project  (Read 7194 times)

Offline Parnell

Black Powder Project
« on: November 28, 2016, 03:20:06 pm »
I'm wondering how the black powder topic will evolve within PA.  Perhaps you read in the last issue of PA the intended inclusion of all things black powder?

Curious moderators, is there talk of a separate category being included on the forum?  Also, with the idea of people having to purchase components for rifles and such, I assume folks just need to stick with rules as best as possible with advertising issues and no name dropping with outside references, and of course links?

I've been working on my first project.  It's a .54 Hawkins style plains rifle kit I picked up.  Slow and steady, been doing quite a bit of reading as I have zero experience and don't want to mess things up.  I've been working on a powder horn as well.  Mullet helped me out in finding black powder because it is VERY difficult to find a supplier in Florida.  Oh well, maybe things will change with the new administration, but I'm skeptical regarding the powder...

Things are fitting together well with the kit and I've realized I need to file the barrel to get the microswirls out of the steel from the manufacturing process and it's coming out nicely.  Anybody want to weigh in on my filing over the writing on the barrel regarding manufacturing?  Is it to be left alone or can I file over that to clean it up, too?

I'm going to stain the stock with aqua fortis and then treat the steel with cold brown finishing.  Another question, should I be using the cold brown on the iron parts of the rifle, like the trigger guard, butt plate, etc.

It'd be fun to see other projects in the works.  Eric K's build a long really sparked my interest to find a starting point.

1’—>1’

Offline Parnell

Re: Black Powder Project
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2016, 03:21:50 pm »
Here are some pictures of where I'm at with it.  Advice well appreciated as I'm progressing carefully.
1’—>1’