Author Topic: Newbie Bowyer needs help tillering an Osage Selfbow  (Read 3857 times)

Offline Gray Ronbow

Newbie Bowyer needs help tillering an Osage Selfbow
« on: October 31, 2016, 01:14:44 pm »
Hi Guys

I am a newbie when it comes to self bows. I have made a handful of bamboo backed Hickory, Osage, and Ipe. I purchased a 72" bow blank and need help to make sure that I am getting the right tiller. I am 6'4" and have a 29" draw. I need to tiller this for three finger under shooting. The right side is stiffer so I am making it the bottom. Right now I have 1/4" positive tiller. This blank had a little bit of reflex in it. Should it be bending more closer to the fades? I have a tillering gizmo so should I use that to create a more circular tiller for this type of bow? My goal is to have a 50lb bow at 29" draw. Please help and make any suggestions.
Thanks
GR

Offline wizardgoat

Re: Newbie Bowyer needs help tillering an Osage Selfbow
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 01:22:45 pm »
Please post a pic of the bow unbraced, braced, and a front profile as well.
it's tough to give good advice other wise. Looks like a stiff spot and very thick wood right side mid limb. Get the bow braced, it changes the stresses on the limbs, if you go much further without doing so you may come in way under weight

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2016, 01:25:41 pm »
Low brace the bow first. Everything looks pretty good so far. The outer limbs could bend a little more but leave the last 6" stiff. What is the thin spot about 8" or so from the right fade?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

mikekeswick

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2016, 01:26:57 pm »
First thing I would do is cut it down to 68 inch :) That is plenty of length for a 29 inch draw.
What width is your bow out of the fades? What width profile do you have? How you have tapered the width determines what side view tiller profile you should have.