Author Topic: Newbie looking to make his first bow  (Read 4633 times)

Offline Bamsk8brder

Newbie looking to make his first bow
« on: August 15, 2016, 04:50:40 pm »
Hey guys. This is my first time posting and being a member to this site. I'm looking to make my first bow and should be harvesting my hickory sometime in the next few weeks. I plan on making self bows to start with and am looking for ideas and things to do on my harvest and general tips for someone making their first bow. I've read several articles guides and threads on here on what everyone is doing. My biggest question to start is since this is my first bow and most likely won't be made perfect should I let the wood season? I have plans to harvest more than I need for now so I can let some season for my next bows including plans on getting some oak from a friend.

Some things I don't know are what draw weight I should aim for or am capable of drawing easily. I'm a small framed person and idk what I can generally draw at. Also plan on eventually making my own sinew but can't due to not being able to find the proper things for it so will probably be using artificial until I can obtain the supplies. Will artificial be a fine substitute?

Any other questions I may have forgotten may get added but for everyone out there that has tons of experience please feel free to give me any helpful advice or tips for me. All your knowledge and advice is welcomed. Thank you guys in advance and will probably try to post pictures of my first bow in the process of being made.

Offline Stick Bender

Re: Newbie looking to make his first bow
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2016, 05:12:29 pm »