Author Topic: Ash tree scrutiny? (Pics.)  (Read 5040 times)

Offline silent sniper

Ash tree scrutiny? (Pics.)
« on: May 19, 2016, 07:40:32 am »
Hello fellow Bowyers. I am new to this wonderful art of bow building and I could use some advice. My father in law is cutting down several trees and he said I could have any of them if I wanted. I believe they are Ash trees but I am not 100% sure. Is ash a good bow wood for a starting bowyer?  If it is worth the trouble; then I would like your advice on which tree(s) to take.

He is cutting the tree directly in front of the cabin along with the 2 on the left side of it that are flagged. My first impression is I like the one farthest to the left, it looks like it has a couple sections of nice straight trunk. The tree on the right is bigger, but has a slight dog leg in it and is not as straight.   The first 8 feet on the tree in front of the cabin looks quite straight as well.... 

Anyhow, I just wanted to get your thoughts. Thanks, SS.

tree directly in front of cabin

Trees on the left side

Offline Hrothgar

Re: Ash tree scrutiny? (Pics.)
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 07:50:58 am »
Welcome, ash can make a good bow and has been used by bowyers on either side of the Atlantic for years. Any of the three trees should be doable. Besides looking for a straight trunk, also look for a straight grain-a trunk without any twists. Try to avoid any knots as well. With these large trunk trees you should be able to get some staves that are clean, a seven foot log will allow plenty of length to work with. Have fun.
" To be, or not to be"...decisions, decisions, decisions.

Offline PatM

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 08:02:12 am »
You'll have to go deeper into the log to get a good back ring and hope the wood hasn't started degrading. Those trees will be riddled with emerald Ash borers.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2016, 08:04:26 am »