Author Topic: Osage board d bow design?  (Read 3888 times)

Offline lauderw55

Osage board d bow design?
« on: March 19, 2016, 03:19:43 pm »
Hi I am fairly new to bow making and have made a few self bows and board bows with great help from the site, so I figured I would ask another question. I have acquired some Osage boards that are 70" long, 2" wide and 5/8 inch thick. All my bows to This point have had a non working stiff handle and I wanted to try something different. I want to try and build a bendy handle bow like a Cherokee d bow design with these Osage boards. I have had trouble finding good starting point dimensions to go by. And I wanted to know if I could use this lumbar for this. One of my concerns is hat the lumber may be to thin and was thinking about using hickory backing strip to thicken that up? So if anyone could give me some starting dimension for this bow that would be great! Thanks for your time

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Osage board d bow design?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2016, 03:27:06 pm »
I think you have enough meat to make the cut!  Double your draw length.  Now add two inches to that for a little extra safety margin.  Add another inch so that you have a half inch of limb out past the nock points.  Got it?  That's a good starting point.

I would go with inch and a half width at the center of the bow and taper to 3/4 inch wide at the tips.  You should be more than wide enough in the handle and may be able to start narrowing the handle some as you go from there. 
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline lauderw55

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2016, 03:46:13 pm »
That is for the response! So would u back it with the 1/8 hickory backing strip?

Offline Stick Bender

« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2016, 03:50:16 pm »