Author Topic: Stave wood from my property  (Read 7008 times)

Offline TheArborist

Stave wood from my property
« on: March 16, 2016, 11:42:07 am »
First off, Hello all, I'm new here.  I'm a certified arborist by trade who loves outdoor recreation and and hand tool woodworking, so I was pretty excited to find this forum after I started reading TBB recently. 

Anyway, I own a small parcel of 14 acres of mixed woodland and prairie in Central Texas, and I would like to start cutting some staves in preparation for learning bowyery.  Here are the species available to me: Hackberry (Celtis laevitaga), Mesquite (Prosopis glandulosa), Honey Locust (Gleditsia triacanthos), Cedar Elm (Ulmus crasifolia), Eve's Necklace (Sophora affinis), Post Oak (Quercus stellata)

What should I start with?  Preference to beginner friendly, as I have never tried to make wood bendy before.  In fact, my furniture projects usually focus on making the wood not be bendy.

Also, is limb wood worth using assuming it is not twisted?
The reaction wood of angiosperms tends to be tension wood which would build up on the top side of the branch, so would it be better on that type of wood to try making the back of the bow from the top side of the limb, as it would be preconditioned for tension?  It's kind of like how if you see the stump of an angiosperm you can tell what the lean of the tree was based on the pith.  Wood will have build up more on the outside of the lean.

That's a lot of questions I know.  Thanks for any help.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Stave wood from my property
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 11:48:46 am »
Hackberry is the only one that catches my eye. You can make a bow out of nearly any wood. Durability and usability are number for me. Limb wood, or second growth is most often more resilient and make a better bow, in some woods.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.