Author Topic: Easter Red Cedar Bow help  (Read 2203 times)

Offline Shot Caller

Easter Red Cedar Bow help
« on: February 07, 2016, 08:34:06 pm »
I need some help here guys. This is my first attempt at a ERC bow. Gonna do a pyramid style 2" at fades tapering to 1/2". Bow is going to be 62" long. I do plan on sinew backing it. A few pics and questions to follow.

Offline Shot Caller

Re: Easter Red Cedar Bow help
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016, 08:36:20 pm »
Handle design

Offline Shot Caller

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2016, 08:37:10 pm »
Knot on back.

Offline Shot Caller

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2016, 08:37:53 pm »
A little natural reflex.

Offline Shot Caller

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2016, 08:43:41 pm »
Forgive me on how I posted I'm a newbie. My questions. Is my design ok? What do I do with that knot on the back? Also there is a small drying check on the belly. Will that be ok? I cut this tree one month ago, stripped the bark and put wood glue on the ends. 3 days ago I used a band saw and draw knife to get it closer to dimensions. How long do I need to let the stave dry before working on it? Thanks in advance for all replies.

Offline willie

« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2016, 11:26:39 pm »
watch that drying check daily, you do not want to dry the stave too fast at first. Has it lost a lot of weight already? If you have been drying outside and you bring it inside this time of year, it might want to dry too fast Do you have a gram scale to take daily weights?

If the stave is a lot thicker than it needs to be, you might consider getting it closer to final weight so it will dry faster and without so much stress. How thick is it now? Do you plan to have it bend thru the handle?

Offline Jim Davis

• Reparrows
    • Reparrows
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2016, 11:40:58 pm »
That's not a bend-through-the-handle design, so I want to know your draw length and the length of the stave. Whatever you do, do NOT cut an arrow shelf!
Jim Davis