Author Topic: Making board bow material  (Read 5654 times)

Offline Jwwood

Making board bow material
« on: January 28, 2016, 09:03:04 am »
Several ? 1. To make hickory backing is it best to use qsawn wood for this? 2. when making board staves what is the best way to cut them out of the log , plain or qsawn?. 3. Best way to cure the backing and staves. Just started building bows and got to take my first deer with a bow I made , which was exciting, but have bought all my material and want to start making my own. I have 3 Osage stave put up and drying so I can try to make a self bow. I have been reading books on building bow but looking for people with experience for advice because unfortunately I have made more kenneling than bows.

Offline Stick Bender

Re: Making board bow material
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2016, 11:06:28 am »
Im no expert I have only made 3 sucsesfull bows 2 where made from strait grained 1/4 sawn hickory the other was made from a maple stave that I guess would be considered plain sawn as it followed the ring of the tree with white wood staves you can just gently peal the bark off & used that as your back I made my first sucesfull bow using the book called  The Bent Stick by Paul Comstock , Im preety much of a newbie & learn new things every day here on PA good luck with your bows maybe some body with more exsperience will come a long with more info for you.
If you fear failure you will never Try !

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2016, 11:17:11 am »
I've built a lot of of board bows and stave bows, personally i would use the trees for self bows and buy my lumber
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Jwwood

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2016, 09:50:29 pm »
Stick bender I just got and started reading the bent stick, I have made 9 bows so far with bought material, just wanting to make my own material for board bows and self bows.

Offline Stick Bender