Author Topic: Hunting, where to start for the complete noob  (Read 3464 times)

Offline Urufu_Shinjiro

Hunting, where to start for the complete noob
« on: January 25, 2016, 03:07:38 pm »
So my archery is getting better I'm starting to contemplate getting out there after some game but I have no idea where to start. I've never been hunting before, wasn't raised into it like a lot of folks. I don't know any hunters well enough to ask to tag along either. I'm no stranger to the outdoors as I go camping many times a year both at historical reenactments as well as in the woods for fun, but as far as hunting goes I might as well be the city slicker desk nerd I appear to be to strangers, lol. I'm in north Florida and was thinking of spring turkey or deer later this year in the fall. So where would a complete noob with no mentor and no budget even start to learn, and I don't even mean like tips and tricks on successfully getting game, but the how/where of even just getting out there to begin with.

Offline paulsemp

Re: Hunting, where to start for the complete noob
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2016, 03:24:17 pm »
I'm 36 years old and this was my first year out also. I was fortunate enough to be able to tag along with my buddy Greg who helped me out a lot but I would recommend taking a local hunter safety course. They go over a lot of laws and are also talking about hunting the whole time I'm sure that would help start fill some your questions. It may also be the law for your state that you would have to take that course

Offline Badly Bent

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2016, 06:43:47 pm »