Author Topic: Tricky tiller  (Read 7622 times)

Offline Ryan C

Tricky tiller
« on: December 18, 2015, 07:38:04 pm »

Its hard to tell if my tiller is good because of the kink on the limb. Its pulling 40 @20 right now. What do you guys think?

Offline Danzn Bar

Re: Tricky tiller
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 07:53:30 pm »
Ryan,
Please take my comments with a grain of salt......I'm not too good at giving advice.......but I think your right limb is very stiff mid limb and out.  Do you have a caul and a heat gun to take that kink out?
DBar...
Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is looking

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2015, 08:00:20 pm »
The right limb is hinging right at the edge of that white cabinet, like dbar said scrape from there out till you get a even bend going and don't pull it that far till the tiller is straightened out get a six inch straight stick to check the bend
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Ryan C

« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2015, 09:17:19 pm »
I didn't think it was a hinge just that kink is there. Its plenty thick in that area.

Offline JonW

« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 09:30:54 pm »
As close as that kink is to the fade just work on the limb past the kink. No need to straighten it out IMO. Work the limbs into the fades and handle last and you will be fine.

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2015, 02:21:31 am »
Ryan, I'd take that kink out. Heat gun 5-10 min would do the trick.
You could leave it as it, and it would be fine, just my 2 cents.

Offline chamookman

« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2015, 04:37:13 am »
I'm with Bub - - Bob.
"May the Gods give Us the strength to draw the string to the cheek, the arrow to the barb and loose the flying shaft, so long as life may last." Saxon Pope - 1923.

Offline hunterbob

« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2015, 07:50:09 am »
I would also heat some reflex in also.

Offline BowEd

• BowEd