Author Topic: First attempt at sinew back... Xbow  (Read 4662 times)

Offline IsaacW

First attempt at sinew back... Xbow
« on: December 14, 2015, 10:02:48 am »
It has been a LONG time since I have been on the board and am trying to catch up.  I recently put up a new shed and have a space to easily stretch out and work on some bow making again!!! YEAH!  I may even try to put in an little indoor "range" for shooting in winter (if winter ever comes).  Anyway... I am starting my first attempt at a medieval crossbow.

Yesterday I finished working down a hackberry stave for the prod.  The tiller was okay but not perfect but I did not want to take any more wood off at this point.  I then applied the first layer of sinew to it.   It is my first time ever sinew backing.  The first layer was a bit rough but after a few hours I added a bit more to the middle of the stave (that I want to beef up a little) and it went a lot better.

I am not letting it set well before I add another layer.  While I wait, I will start on the tiller/stock of the xbow.

We shall never achieve harmony with land, any more than we shall achieve absolute justice or liberty for people. In these higher aspirations, the important thing is not to achieve but to strive.
Aldo Leopold

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: First attempt at sinew back... Xbow
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 10:41:24 am »
Interesting... I'll follow this one.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Urufu_Shinjiro

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2015, 11:03:25 am »
Ditto, cool stuff.

Offline MXer

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2015, 12:00:40 pm »
Yeah I'll follow too!

Give us more... What is the tip to tip length and what kind of draw weight are looking for?

I've also thought about something like this too.

I will be especially curious how you do the trigger mechanism.

Offline IsaacW

« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2015, 02:37:30 pm »