Author Topic: grandpas bush gun  (Read 4219 times)

Offline jayman448

grandpas bush gun
« on: October 16, 2015, 11:08:41 pm »
My gramps recently gave me his rifles as he no longer hunts and i am just getting started. One gun is a model 94 winchester 30-30 with an octogon barrel. I decided to look up the cerial number and the darn thing is over one hundred years old. Shoots good too. Not all shot out. I love it. Im proud of it. But when in conversation i mention that ill be hunting with my grandpas old 30-30 and i actually got laughed at. What the hell is wrong with a 30-30? I got quite upset. Sure its not for huge yardages but itll do the bloody job!

Offline willie

Re: grandpas bush gun
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2015, 11:16:29 pm »
nothing wrong with it at all, unless you are hunting grizzly bear?

were the guys doing the laughing, the same guys that shoot bows with training wheels?

Offline caveman2533

• Steve Nissly
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2015, 11:23:37 pm »
Nothing wrong with it at all. I would proudly carry it. I was recently given a Win 94 32 special built in 1958 and am excited carry it this year. Prolly more deer killed in the past with the Win lever than any other.

Offline stickbender

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2015, 11:52:58 pm »

Absolutely nothing wrong with the 30-30!  It has killed more game in north America, than any other rifle!  I believe it was the first smokeless rifle cartridge.  It can take any north American game animal, including a Griz, with proper round, 170 grain, and proper shot placement.  Not my first choice, but it will kill one.  But it is a great hunting round, and out to around 250 yd.s it is very effective!  Use it with pride!  It is a great rifle round, especially for brush.  I am currently looking to find a good used 30-30 rifle, for brush hunting.  I have a Marlin 45-70, but would still like to get a 30-30.
                                     Wayne

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2015, 12:08:55 am »