Author Topic: Mulberry staves with many thorny like pin knots, please help.  (Read 7259 times)

Offline Ameer

Mulberry staves with many thorny like pin knots, please help.
« on: October 09, 2015, 03:09:06 pm »
Hi guys, I'm new to Bowery and I've only ever done PVC bows before. My first attempt at making a self bow was a Sycamore sapling which I cut and air dried and it turned out horrible after month's of waiting and a lot of hard work, anyway I found a good few Mulberry trees growing too close to each other and the owner let me cut one of them down. I split it into staves and peeled the bark only to reveal many thorny like pin knots about 1 cm in diameter and 1 cm high protruding out of the stave, about thirty of them on just one stave , I'd like to know if I should go ahead and cut through them and maybe the earlier growth rings will be clean and  if they carry through then can I apply sinew to back the bow?  Or should I try to work around them? Altogether I have about twenty staves with the ends sealed some are branches so I could experiment a little but I'd hate to waste a stave so I'm open to any ideas.

Offline simson

• stonehill-primitive-bows
    • stonehill-primitive-bows
Re: Mulberry staves with many thorny like pin knots, please help.
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 03:31:29 pm »
Oh man that is beautiful!
Just use it as back - it is ready!
Simon
Bavaria, Germany

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2015, 03:44:37 pm »
Oh man that is beautiful!
Just use it as back - it is ready!

What he said👆
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Ameer

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2015, 04:09:26 pm »
Thanks, I'll do that.  What design should I go with?  This is my very first bow.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2015, 04:47:33 pm »
I agree with above, go for it!
 What is your draw length, what draw weight are you looking for?