Author Topic: When do u know sinew is dry?  (Read 4253 times)

Offline Blaflair2

When do u know sinew is dry?
« on: August 31, 2015, 08:10:51 pm »
What's y'all's method for knowing its dry? Anything besides the time it has been applied? I have this sinew backed yew bow living in my car seeing if the heat will get her to dry faster.
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline bradsmith2010

Re: When do u know sinew is dry?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 08:47:49 pm »
a few weeks plus is a good idea(depending on humidity where you live), sinew is one of those things usually better not rushed, that being said,, I have started to tiller some bows after one week,, because I am not good at waiting either,, I think the down side of rushing,, is,,, it may not hold as much reflex as when cured properly,, and also the tiller will probably shift on you as the sinew does cure,, and the bow make pick up more weight than you expect,, just based on my experience with " bowyers impatience" ,, :)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2015, 10:46:22 pm »
The sinewed bows I made I waited a month between courses, 2 or 3 courses of sinew. I check tiller and work to completion. After the tillering was done I'd add skins over the sinew and give it another few weeks. The skins hold the moisture in longer. I've heard of folks doing it all in a few weeks but if I'm going to put in the effort I can wait.
 A lot depends on the R/H of where you live. The higher humidity the longer the wait.
 I would store the bow between sessions over the hot water heater in the utility room where the temp and R/H are more constant.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Blaflair2

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2015, 11:16:58 pm »
I've been keeping it in the car. And I don't know if the sinew all in one piece like I applied will dry faster? It seems dry. It hasn't moved reflex wise.
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Pat B