Author Topic: Where to start??  (Read 4909 times)

Offline Sam Dugo

Where to start??
« on: August 06, 2015, 08:47:12 am »
Hey fellas, I’m new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself and hope to get some pointers. I have been shooting recurves and longbows for 5 years now and love to shoot target, 3D and bowhunt. Currently I am shooting barebow recurves (IBO RU class type bows) and I got the itch, bad , for a self bow and wood arrows (maybe cane or bamboo). I love shooting modern recurves but I’m really wanting to try something new!!!

So how does a guy get started? I looked at the Rudder bows and with no disrespect the quality if just not there imo. I am sure I could make a self bow, I have built several flintlocks. On the other hand I have a wife and 4 kids 10 and under and we are getting ready to move here in the near future so I really don’t have a ton of time. I know I would want a bow with some kind of a shelf as shooting off the hand doesn’t float my boat.

Not asking a lot out of the bow just a decent shooter for close (25 yards and in) range hunting.

Also what weight? I guess what I’m really asking is how much performance lack is there between a 45# modern recurve and a 45# self bow? I really like the 40-45# range but don’t want a complete dog of a self bow either, I know they won’t stack up neck and neck but I would like to send a 400 - 450 ish grain arrow around 170 fps+, what weight am I looking for?

I’m sure I will have about 500 more questions here soon lol

Thanks Sam

Offline bubby

Re: Where to start??
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 08:57:32 am »
Here's a start, not a lot of time inexpensive and fairly easy to build, you can cut a shelf in if you want but i wouldn't go center shot just get the right arrows and if you can use hard maple  http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,35312.0.html
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Sam Dugo