Author Topic: When to back  (Read 4630 times)

Offline Blayne

• Top Predator Outdoors
When to back
« on: July 19, 2015, 12:44:11 am »
Sorry if this has been asked loads of times on here, but I am new to both the boards and to making bows:)

When should one back a bow? I feel like it would be best done after tillering is finished and the bow is ready to shoot, but before final sanding and finishing. Or is it best to do so just before one starts with a long string on the tiller.

I have a big leaf maple flat bow the I want to back with steer rawhide, and it is getting close. Best to find out when to glue the backing on.

Thanks Blayne.
"A society grows great when old men plant trees under who shade they will never sit" Greek Proverb

Offline bow101

Re: When to back
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2015, 12:56:53 am »
Hopefully the big leaf works out for you.  I use only Eastern sugar maple (rock maple) I back mine after tiller.  As long as the backing material is uniform it wont change the tiller from limb to limb.
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

mikekeswick

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2015, 03:46:43 am »
Why do you want to back it?
The main reason to back a bow is because (if it's a stave) it has a damaged back ring or it's a weak in tension wood (very rare!).
If it's a board then there are plenty of reasons to back - mainly because the grain is highly unlikely to be perfect.
So if it's a flaw in the wood then you should back it before tillering because the back can't take being bent.
If your bow has got to full draw....what is the point? It's already a bow  ;)
Sinew is a different story altogether!

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2015, 09:11:02 am »
Only made one sinew backed bow lately, I had it pretty much tillered before i sinewed it.

I have made 50 or 60 backed bows mostly bamboo with a few hickory backed boards along the way. I backed them all while they were in the bow blank stage, not even bending.