Author Topic: farrier's or surform for total noobs? paracord?  (Read 5323 times)

Offline arachnid

farrier's or surform for total noobs? paracord?
« on: May 28, 2015, 01:50:16 pm »
Hi all.
I've been offered to teach some guys to build bows. I'm thinking about a standard and simple pyramid bow build out of a white oak board.
As for tools, I haven't desided which of the two will be better in a total beginner's hand-  a farrier's rasp or a surform rasp. I need it to be the tool for major wood removal and roughing out, and for tillering (at least in the early stages). I want to keep it as simple (and cheap) as possible and with minimum of tools.

And while at it, since we won't have time to make strings, I've been thinking to let them use paracords as tillering strings and shooting strings (once the bows are finished). I intend to keep the bow to a max of 30-35# (we are talking of 16-17 years old guys).

Suggestions and thoughts please.

Thanks,

Dor

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: farrier's or surform for total noobs? paracord?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 02:23:51 pm »
Personally I wouldn't touch a Surform.. too flimsy, insufficient weight. With a farrier's rasp you can let the weight do the work... and if you tread on it, it won't break.
Hardest thing will be getting them to actually "see" when they "look". Maybe an example of a slight hinge or a stiff limb on a bow to show them.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 02:27:10 pm »
Dor, A Sureform can tear up splinters if you work against the grain. I think the farriers rasp would be a better tool for beginners.