Author Topic: a lesson in safety for your beginning drivers  (Read 4279 times)

Offline Josh B

a lesson in safety for your beginning drivers
« on: May 22, 2015, 04:02:48 pm »
A lot of you know that I'm a truckdriver by profession.  With 2.5 million miles(accident free, knock on wood) behind me, I have seen a lot of dangerous behavior on the road.  One of the most prominent and most dangerous mistakes I see is not giving enough space to big trucks.  I don't say this because I think trucks have more right to the road, but as a concern for everyone's safety that is not driving a truck.  Aside from needing more room to stop and maneuver, the biggest threat to passenger vehicles is the tires.  You really can't imagine the destructive force that is released when one of these tires lets go.  Make sure your kids understand that under no circumstance, should they tailgate a semi.  When passing a truck on the interstate, don't linger beside the truck.  Get past as quickly as safely possible.  I blew a tire last Friday that was almost brand new.  Luckily it didn't fly completely off and hurt anyone but it could have.  There was no visible damage or discernable reason for this tire to blow, it just let go.  This tire did well over $2k worth of damage to my truck when it went.  It would total a passenger vehicle.  My brother who also drives blew a tire a few years ago in SC.  It came completely apart and struck a Corsica that was tailgating him.  It ripped off the fender and shoved the hood through the windshield of the car.  Had it not brought the hood with it, it would have more than likely decapitated the driver of the car.  I beg of you, PLEASE explain to your beginning drivers to give trucks a wide birth.  Truckdrivers are just people, same as you.  The last thing in the world we want is to have to live with the accidental albeit avoidable death of your loved ones on our conscience.  Here is the carnage wrought by my blowout.  The flap of tread ripped the fender off my tra