Author Topic: Different Amounts of Set Between Limbs (Pics added)  (Read 7878 times)

Offline BarredOwl

Different Amounts of Set Between Limbs (Pics added)
« on: May 04, 2015, 10:13:30 pm »
If one limb of a bow takes a little more set than the other is it simply a sign of a less than perfect tiller?  Or does it just happen sometimes? 

It is the bottom limb of the bow in this case.  I did have it slightly stiffer than the upper limb when I started shooting it.   I have finish drying on it right now and will take a FD photo and compare to the FD photo when I started shooting it.  I probably have 100 - 150 shots through it.  The overall amount of set doesn't seem to be changing.  I check it by putting the bow up against the wall right after unstringing and several hours to a day later and it doesn't appear to be changing between shooting sessions.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 08:16:00 pm by BarredOwl »

Offline Badger

Re: Different Amounts of Set Between Limbs
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 10:19:39 pm »
  Not sure if this is your issue or not but I used to store my bows in a big plastic drum. The bottom limbs would have higher moisture than the top limbs and would take set if I pulled them out of the drum and started shooting them without giving them to time to equalize.

Offline Drewster

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 10:44:11 pm »
I had that problem with a bow recently.  It is a billet bow.....sister billets.  The bottom limb took more set than the top limb.  I heat treated the bottom limb twice but nothing seemed to fix the issue.  A piece of wood with a mind of its own I suppose.  Ya gotta love figuring out the mystery of a piece of wood :-)
Drew - Boone, NC

Offline BarredOwl

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2015, 11:06:44 pm »