Author Topic: I'm Addicted To Staves!  (Read 10630 times)

Offline SKansasC

I'm Addicted To Staves!
« on: March 04, 2015, 10:53:59 am »
I have zero experience making bows, but have recently decided to try my hand at it. I decided to find a decent osage tree, as I have access to about a mile and a half of hedge row, and eventually found a long straight piece that looked good to me. I cut and split it into halves, and that is where the story should end...but it doesn't. Something about cutting and splitting appealed to me! The next weekend I went back to find another perhaps larger tree, and well, this is what I came home with. Several osage staves, along with some hackberry, elm, and locust. And I cant help but look at every tree I drive by, and wonder... :-\

On a more serious note, I have sealed the ends, but should I apply a pesticide to keep boring insects away?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: I'm Addicted To Staves!
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2015, 10:59:36 am »
No doubt, spray the crap out of them once a month.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Josh B

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2015, 11:14:54 am »
Welcome aboard!  I live an hour North of you in Concordia.  Nice looking staves! Is that some cedar in the first pic?  As far as bug protection goes, get the bark and sapwood off and seal the backs really good with polyurethane or something similar.  I think the borers in our area just get drunk off the pesticide and get the munchies.  If those other staves are cedar, just remove the bark carefully and seal the sapwood.  You'll want to do this before you harvest any more.  The borers and powder post beetles will destroy your stash in short order when it warms up.  Josh

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2015, 11:41:03 am »
Welcome to the addiction.  That's a nice looking stash you are building up.