Author Topic: ERC  (Read 4852 times)

Offline butch

ERC
« on: January 19, 2008, 09:51:26 pm »
questions... to use standing dead or live trees.
                          heartwood or sapwood.
                          follow a ring.
                          lower trunk w/ less limbs.

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
Re: ERC
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2008, 11:48:17 pm »
Well, I've only made one cedar bow, so I'm by no means an expert, but this is what I used for it. Live tree, did nothing except peel the bark off. Part sapwood, part heart. Because I peeled the bark off, it did follow a ring. It was a sapling bow, so it was just about the whole trunk, lol.
As I said, I'm not the expert, so don't take my word for granted.  ;)
    Sean
Dallas/Fort Worth Tx.

Minuteman

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 11:27:05 am »
Your best bet is gonna be a live standing tree. That way you know what has happened to the wood and how it was handled.
 That being said i didn't pass up a PERFECT 10 foot log I found sitting on the "to be cut for firewood pile" at a buddy's work. It had been down for a few weeks but cedar is very rot resistant so I took the chance.
  I can't tell you how hard it would be to follow a ring. Marc StLouis has done it I believe on an ELB he made a while back.
 I've seen bows made from erc that were sinew backed and had no heartwood in the limbs at all. Just a little in the handle. I've also seen them that were all heartwood with a hikree back, or heartwood with a chased ring of thin sapwood  for the back.
 I built one a long time ago and had it backed with rawhide, til the glue started letting go. I pulled the skin off and backed it with jute twine . It came off too( think my glue was bad) so I just shot it like a selfbow.It was only a 40# bow but it shot like a 50 pounder as far as speed goes.
 Made that one with a pocket knife in the kitchen!
It exploded while I was test drawing it one day.