Author Topic: Birch Bow  (Read 9155 times)

NorthernHunter

Birch Bow
« on: January 15, 2008, 04:59:02 pm »
hey everyone,
im new to the forum and i have been reading and learning alot. i have been trying out diff wood from my area and i am using wood from a birch tree right now because i used willow for my last one and it broke first time but it was prob my fault for rushing it lol. but im taking this one nice and slow and i was wondering what to back my bow with i was going to use hide to back my bow because i dont have any sinew to sinew back it or is there another kind of wood i can get in northern alberta that would be better to back my birch bow with? or would it be good to just cut another piece of birch to back it or maybe a piece of willow? again im very new to this so any help and info is greath

thanks
Billy

Offline adb

Re: Birch Bow
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 05:08:37 pm »
Hi,
Birch is OK bow wood, but I'd back it. Quarter sawn hickory 1/8", bamboo (maybe), rawhide, flax, or silk will all make good backings.
Willow is pretty crappy bow wood. It's no wonder your first attempt failed. I live in Sask., and there aren't many native bow woods here, either. I import most of my wood... yew, osage, hickory, etc. Try Windsor plywood, I've purchased some excellent wood from them.

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2008, 05:09:55 pm »
If it's a tree stave with unviolated back, and designed long/wide enough it shouldn't need backing. Rawhide would work if you feel it needs it. And willow is very marginal as bow wood, I wouldn't try to make a willow bow myself, just asking for failure.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

NorthernHunter

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2008, 05:16:37 pm »
thanks for the info guys.