Author Topic: Newbie question(s)  (Read 4074 times)

Offline Chadwicksbog

Newbie question(s)
« on: October 10, 2014, 10:34:51 pm »
Hello all,

I am a Girl Scout camp ranger, I have gotten no archery budget for three years running, I am a traditional hand tool woodworker and a wood turner, I have a sawmill, and feel like I can bite a few kids bows off. I can chase a ring, have done that for chair making. I have 100 acres of eastern hardwoods with a good stand of young hickory. I am a level 1 archery instructor.

I read the first two bowyers bibles, but there are a few questions I didn't get answers for.

1- Where is the centerline of the bow? Where the web of the thumb meets the handle? The arrow rest?

2- Is it easier or harder to make a 20# bow than a 40#?

3- Will a self bow stand up to girl scouts repeated use? For how long? Say 100 shots a weekend 20 times a year.

Thanks in advance for any advise! These seem like silly questions after reading the threads here!
« Last Edit: October 10, 2014, 10:49:56 pm by Chadwicksbog »

Offline ssgtchad

Re: Newbie question(s)
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2014, 10:57:08 pm »
Good luck :o  Hickory Makes a really great bow and should hold up fine, and the best part is you don't have to chase a ring.  Just remove the bark and there's your back.
Always learning something new.

Offline Chadwicksbog

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2014, 11:06:03 pm »
Haha sergeant chad and ranger chad! Looks like the late 70 s early eighties kids are here!

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2014, 11:55:27 pm »
Good luck with your scouts.  My son is a scout as was I.  to your questions

1.  The center for me is the center of the bow.  The arrow pass can vary.

2.  It is easier to make a 20lb bow if you were aiming for 40, but harder if the goal was 20. :) Kids bows are fun but come with their own peculiarities when making them.