Author Topic: Newb mistake, might as well ask the experts.  (Read 4714 times)

Offline lenador

Newb mistake, might as well ask the experts.
« on: September 26, 2014, 09:04:09 am »
Hello all, I've been a member for some time even though I don't post much. I've had interest in building my own bow for a while but being a newb I waited until yesterday to harvest my Osage even though hunting season is just around the corner.
  I've made two mistakes.
 1. I've overlooked the time and patience it takes to season a stave.
 2. I harvested a piece that is rather short for bow making.

So my questions to the experts are....
 1. Where can I find a pre seasoned stave.
 2. Would a 45" stave make a nice hunting D bow?

I've also learned that long straight Osage trees are not so common and the one I've found has multiple very nice straight trunks. I'm planning on returning and harvesting the rest of the tree for many bows in the future that I can learn the craft with. The thick thorny Osage made it hard work to make sure my piece was large enough.
Failure isn't a loss unless you cease to move forward from it.

Offline lenador

Re: Newb mistake, might as well ask the experts.
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 09:08:52 am »
I guess I miss worded my question after reading it. Rather than "Is there" any where to get pre seasoned staves, "where should" I get ore seasoned staves. Meaning what are some of the more trusted fair places I could look.

Offline NeolithicMan

• No beliefs, just ideas
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 09:24:44 am »
Post in the trading post section that you are lookin for seasoned staves. If you have items you think people will want, mention them an someone is bound to help you out. Keep in mind that to ship something like that, it costs a good amount in shipping. Welcome to the forum
John, 40-65# @ 28" Central New York state. Never enough bows, never enough arrows!

Offline lenador

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2014, 09:32:30 am »
Thanks for the tip!