Author Topic: Help me with my hickory build  (Read 5957 times)

Offline Puckaway

Help me with my hickory build
« on: August 22, 2014, 03:31:27 am »
I'm new here! I'm going to try to post photos so bear with me.. I'm working on a hickory stave right now. Its just starting to bend. It has a lot of back set on one limb. The other is nearly straight. I wonder what to do? Do I attempt to steam and straighten the back set limb or try to steam and replicate it on the straight limb? Otherwise if I just left it wouldn't that limb need to be tillered significantly weaker to get both limbs to bend evenly? I'm new to this... Well not really, but new to being close to something that actually shoots! Thanks guys!

Offline Puckaway

Re: Help me with my hickory build
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 03:37:13 am »
Ok it won't let me post pictures. Any ideas how? says to contact administrator or the picture is too big. I'm not a computer guy. never had a problem with my photos elsewhere....

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 03:56:21 am »
If it was your first bow I'd say just go for it and tiller it the best you can. If you've got a few shooters under your belt, spend some time and build a caul. All my bows have been going on the caul recently. It's much easier tillering a bow with even limbs, and say good bye to string follow

Offline burchett.donald

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2014, 09:48:12 am »
  Keep'er dry bud, keep'er dry...Make a caul and heat treat the snot outa that thing...It will pay off ;)
                                                                                                                                     Don
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 11:03:00 am by burchett.donald »
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2014, 10:43:25 am »