Author Topic: Utah bowyers  (Read 6244 times)

Offline jeffp51

Utah bowyers
« on: August 08, 2014, 12:51:20 am »
I am curious how many people on this forum are from Utah. I have seen JoJo and one or two others and wonder who else is out there. Since I am new to this I would love to pick a few brains.  How do you legally obtain staves?  from which local woods?  I keep hearing about juniper, but I have lived here my whole life and never seen one that wasn't twisted and bushy.  what other woods make good bows here and how do I get them?  I am in Pleasant Grove, by the way.

thanks.

Jeff

Offline knapperboy

Re: Utah bowyers
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 01:00:33 am »
I have the same question about juniper. I live in northwestern Colorado, near Utah, and I see juniper all over. It's really the only thing that grows out here. Hope you don't mind me askin a few questions on your forum Jeff!
                       KB

Offline jeffp51

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 01:11:40 am »
not at all.  I also always see juniper in the same sentence with sinew backing, but I don't have any of that either.  I wonder about russian olive, (also twisty, but ubiquitous) chinese elm, or anything else. I think I saw JoJo uses black locust, but I don't know where he gets it. The only osage I see from here looks like about $100 a stave on the internet, and my wife would not go for that, I am sure--besides, I like the idea of harvesting my own wood.  I would be willing to trade, but as a new guy, not sure what someone else would want from me.  I did make some pretty cool bamboo arrows from the build along on this site, and made my own quiver too.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2014, 01:14:55 am by jeffp51 »

Offline bubby

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 01:49:05 am »
guys there is absolutely nothing wrong with going to a hardwood dealer and getting some hickory or hard maple boards to turn into bows while you look for staves