Author Topic: Tiller check 48" Hackberry (Better?)  (Read 4167 times)

Offline BarredOwl

Tiller check 48" Hackberry (Better?)
« on: August 04, 2014, 08:03:10 pm »
I tried looking in the mirror and drawing it and using a tillering stick.  The only thing I havent tried is a pulley and rope so I can get back away from it.  The only way I can get a good idea is by taking a photo.  I think I know what it looks like but want to hear what it looks like to you guys.   

« Last Edit: August 04, 2014, 10:28:59 pm by BarredOwl »

Offline streamflyer

Re: Tiller check 48" Hackberry
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2014, 08:29:09 pm »
Well I am very new to this but it looks like the first third of your top limb looks a little stiff. but a great looking bow so far.

Offline SLIMBOB

• Deplorable Slim
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2014, 08:59:37 pm »
I'm on an IPhone so really hard to tell but, looks to me like the bottom is weaker. Turn it over and see if that changes things if you feel that I am right. Put it on a tiller stick at 10 inches or so and run a straight edge along the belly. The gap will tell you if it is on or off.
Liberty, In God We Trust, E Pluribus Unum.  Distinctly American Values.

Offline BarredOwl

« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2014, 09:08:11 pm »
The bottom limb looks weaker to me too.  On the tiller stick last night at 13" it looked very even.  I was very proud of myself.   I was all ready to show it off until I saw the photo that I had my wife take.    I will try the straight edge and compare both sides to each other.     

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2014, 09:12:01 pm »
Well I am very new to this but it looks like the first third of your top limb looks a little stiff. but a great looking bow so far.

Bingo. Good eye new guy.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline BarredOwl

Re: Tiller check 48" Hackberry (Better?)