Author Topic: Simple D Bow...handle  (Read 5244 times)

Offline Staver

Simple D Bow...handle
« on: January 02, 2008, 11:42:16 pm »
I'm new to the PA site and was interested in making a simple D bow, but I'm not sure what the demensions/location of the handle should be.  Do you just put a leather handle on the middle of the bow?  Is the handle offset from middle point?  If you add an arrow rest to it, is it better to use leather versus wood? ???  Even though these questions seem simple, for the simplest of bows, I thought I'd throw this idea out there because there's so many cool thoughts and practical designs out there :).

Joe H

Offline Gordon

Re: Simple D Bow...handle
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 12:25:18 am »
Check out my hazelnut build-a-long in the howto forum. It shows one way to build a D-style bow.
Gordon

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2008, 12:36:14 am »
Welcome to PA, Staver.  The way I make most of my bows now is symmetrical...meaning the center of the handle is in the center of the bow.   I like to use a floppy rest(Mickey Lotz's idea) for an arrow rest. It is as simple as a D bow. ;D  I have made D bows from 49" long to 68" long. The D bow is a simple design but it makes a very effective weapon.      Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2008, 10:58:38 am »
In a D bow the handle should bend and it should be the widest part of the bow. Therefore, it can not be narrowed. I usually shoot the arrow 1 to 1.25 inches above center. Depends on how the tiller looks. If the lower limb is a bit too stiff I'll go 1.25 inches, etc. My rests are just a bit of leather. Info on my site. Jawge
http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/archer.html
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

bowstick

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2008, 11:39:27 am »