Author Topic: Flight bow in progress  (Read 7054 times)

Offline Badger

Flight bow in progress
« on: June 18, 2014, 03:49:28 pm »
  Here is a bow I am just getting started on, I have it cleaned up and very roughly floor tillered, I just glued on some ipe nocks. The bow is 54" nock to nock, BBO, target weight 50#@24".  I copied Marks designs to a large extent with a few touches of my own.  At present the bow weighs 19 oz, my projected finished weight is 17 oz. If I go to far below that and start to show signs of stress I will drop the bow to 35#.

Starting with 3 3/4 iches of reflex I don't expect it to creep up as I tiller because I did not glue it into perry reflex. I pretty much formed the wood then wrapped it with maybe 2" of relex induced under light pressure. These have a higher than normal failure rate so I will post as I go and hope it don't break. Target speed is a minimum 245 fps with 200 grain arrow, otherwise just another practice bow.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2014, 05:25:35 pm by Badger »

Offline Badger

Re: Flight bow in progress
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 05:22:16 pm »
  Progress, I have it out to 50#@15" on the long string, will continue until I get to 50#@20" then brace the bow. About 1/4" less reflex.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2014, 05:29:36 pm »
Looking fine so far Steve. Could be a screama'!
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2014, 06:04:07 pm »
  Here we are at 17" and 50#. Left limb bending a little too much mid and right limb a bit stiff, I should have that evened up pretty good by the time I hit 20" then I will brace. Most important thing I pay attention to on a flight bow is the condition of the wood. Makes a huge difference in the end product. I try not to loose any weight due to compression, regardless of visible set.

Offline Del the cat