Author Topic: First self-bow help?  (Read 4197 times)

Offline Easternarcher

First self-bow help?
« on: December 31, 2007, 11:32:36 am »
OK guys...in my other thread about dry heat I mentioned this HHB log I was gonna split yesterday. Well, I didn't split it cuz I wanted to de-bark it to see what I had there....also it was getting too dark to work anyways.

So the following are the 4 quadrants of the log...dia. 3.5-4" - 6.5ft. long...

Any suggestions on how best to split this thing would be helpful. I've never done this before for staves so I'm a bit hesitant.
I can split wood all day but this is different. ::)
Side 1

Side 2

Side 3

Side 4
« Last Edit: December 31, 2007, 11:37:05 am by Easternarcher »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: First self-bow help?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 11:39:36 am »
Looks to me like you have some checks started in that one end. That would be a good place to start with your splitting wedge. At that diameter, halves would probably be all you should go for. When you split it you will find out if there is a twist in the grain.    Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Easternarcher

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 11:44:26 am »
Looks to me like you have some checks started in that one end. That would be a good place to start with your splitting wedge. At that diameter, halves would probably be all you should go for. When you split it you will find out if there is a twist in the grain.    Pat

Yes PAt...there is a splits in both ends..Sorry can't say right now if they line up. not likely!  I assume that with help I may be able to work out the twist if present with heat or steam?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 11:49:44 am »