Author Topic: My first complete self bow  (Read 5814 times)

Offline arkdoc

My first complete self bow
« on: May 16, 2014, 05:49:58 pm »
It came from a twisted osage stave that I cut on my family farm.  About 54" ntn and is a bend through the handle.  I don't have a bow scale, but comparing it to my known 55# bow this one has more draw weight and my guess would be about 60-65#.  I wrapped the handle with hemp twine and have some fox fur for decorations.  I also made the string out of artificial sinew with some homemade fox fur string silencers.  It took some set, but much of it is natural deflex in one limb.  The tiller isn't perfect, but I am a newbie and I am proud none the less.  Go easy on my guys... :D  Also, my wife wouldn't help me out and take the pictures so this is the best I could get right now and had to rip them from a video off my phone for the full draw pics.

Offline PatM

Re: My first complete self bow
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 06:26:02 pm »
Lots of work you can still do on that before you call it good. Your hinged parts don't look too set in the wood yet so I'd work on smoothing out that arc.
 It's a start.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2014, 06:35:58 pm »
Well done, there's something special about your first bow. :)
I've just finished refurbishing my first ever Yew English Longbow about 40 years after making it :laugh:
So give that one 40 years then re-tiller it ;)
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2014, 06:43:40 pm »
   Nice job, I would make minor corrections but not go below your desired draw weight chasing perfection, it works right now, have fun with it.

Offline VicNova

« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2014, 06:55:21 pm »
Good job. They can only get better from here!
Ypsilanti,  Michigan

Offline arkdoc

« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2014, 06:57:07 pm »