Author Topic: My First Bow  (Read 9583 times)

jdwilltx

My First Bow
« on: December 29, 2007, 02:40:45 pm »
Hi everyone.  This is my first attempt at bowmaking.  It is an unbacked red oak board from McCoys.  It is 68 inches tip to tip and 66 1/2 nock to nock.  It is 40 lbs @ 28 inches.  It took about 2 inches of set on each limb.  It shoots fairly well but my selection of arrows consists of 3 different carbon arrows so I am not very accurate.  A set of arrows will be my next task.

My girlfriend got me The Traditional Bowyers Bible Vol. 1 for Christmas and her mom got me a subscription to Primitive Archer!  I had 3 issues of the magazine and a copy of The Bent Stick before I started this bow.

Let me know what yall think.

Jeremy

[attachment deleted by admin]

330bull

Re: My First Bow
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2007, 02:56:12 pm »
Great job!  That may just blow the doors off 99% of everyone else's "1st bow".  The tiller looks pretty dang good too and that's what really matters!

Joe

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 03:30:30 pm »
Excellent work. Congratulations! Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Woodland Roamer

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2007, 09:23:19 pm »
You're off to a great start Jeremy, that's a great first first bow!

Alan
Alan Shook-Taylorsville NC

Bring back the Stone Age!

Offline michbowguy

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2007, 10:46:10 pm »
awesome first bow!

jamie

Offline DanaM

« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2007, 05:44:44 am »
Welcome to PA Jeremy looks like you a brite future in bow making nicely done.
One observation though, why pull the bow so far back? In the picture looks like yer drawing almost
to your ear, could anchor at the corner of mouth and decrease the draw a inch or so, it would put
less stress on the bow. Also its much easier to tiller a bow to 26" than it is to 28"