Author Topic: First attempt at a bow, have some questions  (Read 5395 times)

Offline Xalexon

First attempt at a bow, have some questions
« on: April 14, 2014, 10:09:42 pm »
Hey guys, I've been doing some research over the past week and I think I'm about ready to try my first bow from a board. I'm more or less decided on an american flatbow but I've got some questions.

1) Length: Pros and Cons? Other than being unwieldy is there any reason not to make an 80" bow? Now I'm no expert but it seems that longer working limbs would mean less stress on the limbs when pulled to full draw when compared to shorter limbs. I feel like this would make the tiller more forgiving. Now I've never shot an 80" bow, but assuming I'd be comfortable with it, should I?

2) Wood: My local home depot has pine, spruce, poplar, red oak, and maple boards available. Should I choose one type of wood over the other? From what I can tell, red oak is most common among them but is it the best wood for a board bow?

3) Design: Although I've read that pyramid style bows are easiest to make, I really like the american flatbow design. With that being said, I've seen some varying designs. Some sources have an un-tapered limb for the first half or so of the limb followed by  tapering down to 1/2" at the tip like in this vintage projects link:

http://www.vintageprojects.com/archery/Flatbow-plans.pdf

Others have the limb taper as soon as the handle ends down to the tips like so:

http://archerytalkblog.com/?p=18500

which is the better design and why?

Assuming there's nothing wrong with a longer bow, I'd like to make mine roughly 80", any idea how to scale up designs to that size? Would the tips still be 1/2" wide? Would the belly still taper to 3/8"? Without knowing the exact length of the bow I intend to make, how can I go about scaling layouts for myself?

I should mention that I want a bow that shoots no less than 50# at 28". This is the hunting req. for where I live.

Thanks for all the help.