Author Topic: Ash backed Ipe longbow  (Read 2224 times)

Offline TimothyR

• PM110782
Ash backed Ipe longbow
« on: April 13, 2014, 04:18:55 pm »
This was in the forum as Ipe Board. I think im ready for brace but I don't want to break this one so could some of veterans out there help me out. Any advice, criticism is very much needed. I was told I had a hinge n the right limb off the fads. I've worked on it and don't see a hinge but im still new at this.  Please help!  Tim

Sorry for the pic. Couldn't get a decent shot.
Freedom dies one compromise at a time. III%

Offline H Rhodes

Re: Ash backed Ipe longbow
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 04:24:22 pm »
Looks good.  I would go ahead and brace it now, sort of low at first, maybe three or four inches.  The left limb looks a little stiffer to me.  You might take a few scrapes from the fades to mid limb before you go to brace height, but it's up to you.   I don't tarry at long string very much.  It is real deceptive.  You will tell a lot more about how a bow is bending at low brace.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 04:27:40 pm by hrhodes »
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2014, 04:28:20 pm »
it lokks like the limb on the right is a bit weaker,  but it looks close enough to brace on a low brace height,....get it balanced on a low braced height and slowy increase the brace height....as hrhodes says above
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2014, 04:42:29 pm »